Malayeka Charity Empowerment Fund

What good deed have you done today?

Each day I challenge myself to do one nice things for someone else. It may be a random act of kindness or for someone you love. Whatever you do, at the end of the day, you made the world a little kinder. You filled the world with a little more love.

Not everyone wants to give up their life to volunteer. I know I am an exception. However, no matter where you are or what you do, you have the ability to make your impact, as well.

My partner, Coco, and I have founded a community center in Cerrito de la Virgen. Our mission is to empower women and children through self-love and education. I know you can’t be here with me, but in this video you get to see what we are doing. This is our center. This is my life. This is my love and passion. I can’t wait for you to see it:)

We are fundraising to raise money for a water tank. Why? No one is this community has running water. They wait on the corner each Tuesday with buckets to fill them with enough water to last them until the next truck comes. This could be a week, two weeks, or more. We work with over 100 people at the center. We have bathrooms and a shower right now that are not functioning because of our lack of water. Not only that, but more importantly, we will be able to provide filtered water to EVERY person that comes to this center plus their families. I cannot even begin to express the importance of this step.

After we raise enough money for the tank, we will then beautify the landscape. We are doing this to improve the learning environment the women and children are in. But, not just that. We are showing them that people from all over the world believe in them, believe they are worth their time and money, and to show they deserve something inspiring and beautiful. For their entire lives, they have been told how poor they are, how they won’t amount to anything, and they existence isn’t acknowledged by the government. So, together, let’s how they they are worth it and their lives matter. Because for the first time, they are being offered a chance and hope for a better future.

Check out the video and link below:

http://gofundme.com/empowermentfund

Check it out, pass it on, and if we are lucky, maybe we will be part of your one good deed for the day:) I may be biased, but I think it should be shouted from the mountain tops!:)

Leave a comment